SOUTH CAMBRIDGESHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of an Extraordinary meeting of the Council held on Thursday, 21 February 2019 at 2.00 p.m.

PRESENT: Councillor Dr. Douglas de Lacey – Chairman

Councillor Anna Bradnam – Vice-Chairman

Councillors: Philip Allen, Henry Batchelor, John Batchelor, Ruth Betson,

Dr. Shrobona Bhattacharya, Tom Bygott, Dr. Martin Cahn, Nigel Cathcart, Grenville Chamberlain, Sarah Cheung Johnson, Gavin Clayton, Graham Cone, Dr. Claire Daunton, Clare Delderfield, Sue Ellington, Peter Fane, Neil Gough, Jose Hales, Bill Handley, Philippa Hart, Geoff Harvey, Dr. Tumi Hawkins, Pippa Heylings, Mark Howell, Steve Hunt, Alex Malyon, Tony Mason,

Peter McDonald, Brian Milnes, Dawn Percival, Deborah Roberts, Nick Sample,

Bridget Smith, Hazel Smith, Dr. Ian Sollom, Peter Topping,

Aidan Van de Weyer, Bunty Waters, Heather Williams, John Williams,

Eileen Wilson and Nick Wright

Officers: Patrick Adams Senior Democratic Services Officer

Susan Gardner-Craig Head of Human Resources and Organisational

Development

Kathrin John Democratic Services Team Leader Rory McKenna Deputy Head of Legal Practice Bob Palmer Interim Executive Director

Matthew Gregson, Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP, was also in attendance as

the Council's external legal advisor

1. APOLOGIES

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Judith Rippeth.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

3. EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

The Chairman invited the Council to consider whether the press and public should be excluded from the meeting during the consideration of the following item of business in accordance with the following relevant paragraphs of Part I of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended):

- 1. Information relating to any individual.
- 2. Information which is likely to reveal the identity of an individual.
- 3. Information relating to the financial or business affairs of any particular person (including the Authority holding that information).

Upon being put to the vote, votes were cast as follows:

In favour (30)

Councillor Philip Allen, Henry Batchelor, John Batchelor, Anna Bradnam, Dr. Martin Cahn, Sarah Cheung Johnson, Dr Claire Daunton, Dr. Douglas de Lacey, Peter Fane,

Neil Gough, Jose Hales, Bill Handley, Philippa Hart, Geoff Harvey, Tumi Hawkins, Pippa Heylings, Steve Hunt, Alex Malyon, Tony Mason, Peter McDonald, Brian Milnes, Dawn Percival, Nick Sample, Bridget Smith, Hazel Smith, Ian Sollom, Aidan Van de Weyer, John Williams and Eileen Wilson.

Against (12)

Councillors Ruth Betson, Dr. Shrobona Bhattacharya, Tom Bygott, Grenville Chamberlain, Graham Cone, Sue Ellington, Mark Howell, Deborah Roberts, Peter Topping, Bunty Waters, Heather Williams and Nick Wright

Abstain (2)

Councillors Nigel Cathcart and Gavin Clayton.

It was accordingly:

RESOLVED

That the following item contains exempt information and that the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information.

Council then, by affirmation:

RESOLVED

That, in accordance with Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act.

4. EMPLOYMENT MATTER

The Council received a copy of a report which set out proposals in relation to the early retirement of the Chief Executive and the appointment of an Interim Chief Executive. As the report had only been made available earlier in the day, in order to give Members time to read the contents of the report, the Chairman adjourned the meeting at 2.10pm. The meeting resumed at 2.20pm.

In response to a question, the Deputy Head of Legal Practice confirmed that Mr Matthew Gregson was the Council's external legal advisor and was present at the meeting to provide advice on employment law.

Councillor Henry Batchelor, the Chairman of the Employment and Staffing Committee, moved the recommendations of the meeting of the Committee held on 13 February 2019, together with an additional recommendation set out in paragraph 6 (c) of the report.

Councillor Bridget Smith, the Leader of the Council, seconded the motion.

During discussion, a number of questions were raised by Members. Councillor Bridget Smith, the Leader of the Council, provided further background and context to the matter and to the proposal in the report and responded to Members' questions.

Following discussion, some Members expressed concerns with regard to the financial

implications associated with the proposal which would involve the Council contributing circa £202,500 into the Local Government Pension scheme towards the cost of the early retirement.

The Chairman reported on his intention to take recommendations (a) and (c) of the report together and to take the vote on recommendation (b) separately. As recommendation (b) related to an appointment, it would not be subject to a recorded vote in line with the provisions of Council Standing Order 16.5.

Upon being put to the vote, votes on recommendations (a) and (c) were cast as follows:

In favour (30):

Councillors Philip Allen, Henry Batchelor, John Batchelor, Anna Bradnam, Dr. Martin Cahn, Sarah Cheung Johnson, Dr. Claire Daunton, Dr Douglas de Lacey, Clare Delderfield, Peter Fane, Neil Gough, Jose Hales, Bill Handley, Philippa Hart, Geoff Harvey, Dr. Tumi Hawkins, Pippa Heylings, Steve Hunt, Alex Malyon, Tony Mason, Peter McDonald, Brian Milnes, Dawn Percival, Nick Sample, Bridget Smith, Hazel Smith, Ian Sollom, Dr. Aidan Van de Weyer, John Williams and Eileen Wilson.

Against (12):

Councillors Ruth Betson, Dr. Shrobona Bhattacharya, Tom Bygott, Grenville Chamberlain, Graham Cone, Sue Ellington, Mark Howell, Deborah Roberts, Peter Topping, Bunty Waters, Heather Williams and Nick Wright.

Abstain (2):

Councillors Nigel Cathcart and Gavin Clayton.

Upon recommendation (b) being put to the vote, votes were cast as follows:

In favour (43)

Against (0)

Abstain (1)

It was accordingly:

RESOLVED

That the Council:

- 1. Approves the arrangements for the early retirement of the current Chief Executive outlined in the report of the Leader of the Council.
- 2. Authorises the Leader and Deputy Head of Legal Practice to take the action indicated in recommendation (c) in paragraph 6 of the report.
- 3. Appoints Michael John Hill as Interim Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service, Returning Officer and Electoral Registration Officer and to all other roles, duties and delegations that are prescribed to the Chief Executive in the Council's Constitution on an interim basis until a permanent appointment is made. The appointment to be effective from 1 March 2019.

The Meeting ended at 3.30 p.m.